MEET THE TEAM: SANDRA!

When I was a kid, my father used to sit with me in the garden on the warm summer nights of Spain, and there we used to spend hours watching the sky. I remember he always said that I should never stop looking up, that I should always try to reach for the stars.

All my life I have been trying to follow my dad’s advice. That is why I studied Physics in Madrid, so I could better understand the world I live. And that is why I decided to go on with a scientific career and came to Munich to do my PhD in 2010.

Apart from Astronomy, my other passion in life is traveling. And, actually, thanks to Astronomy I had the chance to visit some of the most spectacular places in the word, the astronomical observatories. For me, it is such an incredible feeling to be up on the mountain, literally in the middle of nowhere, working at one of those big eyes that watch the sky night after night!

When I knew there was a project called GalileoMobile, which aims to bring Astronomy closer to children and young people from all over the world, to encourages them to wonder about the Universe, I knew I had to be part of it. Popularizing Science is, for sure, very important, but for me the principal thing is to make other children to look up the sky, to awake their curiosity and encourage them to always, no matter what, search for the stars.

I am very happy to work on a team of people who share my dream and I can only thank them for letting me be part of this amazing adventure!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

